• Tee Times Paper

Phillip Lee adds 3rd win at the MUNI

Phillip Lee has won the James H Fyke Municipal Amateur 3 times out of the last 5 years, but had to make a dramatic comeback to accomplish the 3'pete. The winner of the 2015, 2018, and 2020 MUNI was 2 shots behind playing competitor Chris Barron going into the 18th and finishing hole at Ted Rhodes golf course. After a double bogey by Barron on 18 and a par by Lee, the two headed to No. 1 for a playoff. The first hole provided duel pars for both players, however the second playoff hole was the one that gave Lee the crown as Barron double bogeyed to Lee's par.

Lee gets to have his name engraved on the Danny Gibson Trophy for the third time. Wayne Evans, Superintendent of Sports/Golf and Audie Johnson, Manager Ted Rhodes golf course were pleased to be able and present the annual MUNI event during these uncertain times. The golf course was in great shape, thanks to the grounds crew and the the entire staff.

The Women's MUNI will be held September 19th, 20th at Harpeth Hills, while the Senior MUNI will be held Spetmeber 28th, 29th at Ted Rhodes.

Results of the top 5 in the Championship division:

1) Phillip Lee 138 -6

2) Chris Barron 138 -6

3) Scotty Hudson 140 -4

4) Ryan Terry 141 -3

5) Rosario Falzone 142 -2


©2019 by Tee Times Newspaper. Proudly created with